DARYL MURPHY returns to the Newcastle United starting line-up for this afternoon's Championship game at Ipswich.

Murphy scored 67 goals in 226 appearances during two separate spells at Portman Road, and returns to the Magpies side in place of Aleksandar Mitrovic, who drops back down to the bench after starting Friday's draw with Leeds.

Murphy's last Newcastle start came in March's goalless draw against Birmingham, with his last goal coming in the 3-1 win at Huddersfield.

In total, Rafael Benitez has made five changes to the side that claimed a point against Leeds three days ago.

DeAndre Yedlin comes in for Vurnon Anita at right-back, with Grant Hanley partnering Jamaal Lascelles at the heart of the back four in preference to Chancel Mbemba.

Mo Diame gets the nod ahead of Ayoze Perez in the 'number ten' slot, with Christian Atsu lining up on the left-hand side as Yoan Gouffran drops down to the bench.

IPSWICH (4-4-2): Bialkowski; Spence, Chambers, Berra, Kenlock; Skuse, Ward, Huws, Lawrence; McGoldrick, Sears.

Subs: Crowe (gk), Smith, Pitman, Bru, Emmanuel, Diagouraga, Samuel.

NEWCASTLE (4-2-3-1): Darlow; Yedlin, Lascelles, Hanley, Dummett; Shelvey, Hayden; Ritchie, Diame, Atsu; Murphy.

Subs: Elliot (gk), Gamez, Mbemba, Colback, Gouffran, Perez, Mitrovic.